Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2012, 05:39 PM   #1 
Chigwell Hammer
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
What did you do to your tank?

Just wondering what you all did to your tank before you added your betta.. For example did you cycle it fully? Did you just fill the tank and setup the filter and heater ? Did you add real plants?

Thank you!!
Chigwell Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:42 PM   #2 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
I have never cycled and always use live plants and never lost a fish in the first month or two of buildings but this was before I learned about cycling.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:51 PM   #3 
homegrown terror
Member
 
homegrown terror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tennessee
you can do either fish-in or empty cycling. fish-in cycling is usually for those of us cursed with impatience, but you must be careful and not slack off with your water changes. empty tank cycling is usually considered safer, but you have to introduce bacteria yourself, either from "dirt" filter media or substrate from an established tank, or from a prepared additive culture.
homegrown terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:56 PM   #4 
sainthogan
Member
 
sainthogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Red River, NM
I let mine sit for 24 hours with a live plant before I added my Betta - basically, I followed the directions that came with the tank and its filter.
sainthogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:56 PM   #5 
ChoclateBetta
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Virginia
Also cycling chemicals at store help a bit.
ChoclateBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:06 PM   #6 
megaredize
Member
 
megaredize's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
i have never fully cycled a tank without a fish in it. i usually buy a betta and then think about where im going to put it. of course now that i have a few i use old filter media from my tanks to do an instant cycle on new filters. but for my first one i just set up the tank and put fishy in. I do always use nutrafin cycle in new tanks so i think it helps. cant say for sure but i havent had a fish die.
megaredize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:19 PM   #7 
registereduser
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I just set up a new tank today. I have the filter running and heater set up. I will put the fish in it tomorrow and then "seed" the tank with bacteria from one of my other established tanks.

If this is your first tank, do you have a friend with a healthy cycled tank? You can scrape some of the stuff off their filter and deposit it in your filter.
registereduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.