Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2012, 11:49 AM   #1 
stephanier
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
ammonia questions

I've had my tank set up for about a week now. I tested the ammonia twice last week and both times it was around 1 ppm. After a 50% water change today, I tested it again and it was still 1 ppm. I'm wondering what the reason is for the lack of change. Is it because the tank is still cycling? Because some of the old water went back in when I put my fish back in? Because I should have done a larger change? Or some other reason?
stephanier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:53 AM   #2 
sainthogan
Member
 
sainthogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Red River, NM
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephanier View Post
I've had my tank set up for about a week now. I tested the ammonia twice last week and both times it was around 1 ppm. After a 50% water change today, I tested it again and it was still 1 ppm. I'm wondering what the reason is for the lack of change. Is it because the tank is still cycling? Because some of the old water went back in when I put my fish back in? Because I should have done a larger change? Or some other reason?

Have you tested your water source? Sometimes the water you are putting in has ammonia in it already.
sainthogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:56 AM   #3 
stephanier
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I use my tap water, I will test that. Thanks, I hadn't thought of that.
stephanier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:42 PM   #4 
SinX7
Member
 
SinX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Don't forget to condition the water!
SinX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:26 PM   #5 
Neil D
Member
 
Neil D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hiding from The Mods
For some ammonia control, you could use Prime, which binds ammonia to make it safe. It only works for 24hrs, and then it re-releases it into the tank. You can find it at PetCo/Smart and any fish store.
Neil D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Questions? sunstar93 Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 20 09-19-2012 02:28 PM
AquaClear Ammonia Remover Filter Inserts? (ammonia removing gravel media...) PinkDiamond Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 10-20-2009 10:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.