Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2012, 08:37 PM   #1 
Rocky12
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
Cool Cycling a 3.3g? Impossible?

I've heard on this forum that it is both possible and impossible to cycle a tank this size. My question is though, if you can't ever cycle it correctly, how can you ever add a fish in safely?

If you can, what is the best method? I would hate to risk the fish-in method, so would pure ammonia be best?
Rocky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:08 PM   #2 
Kim
Member
 
Kim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Generally the issue is that there is insufficient surface area for gas exchange and not enough area for beneficial bacteria to colonize. The easiest way to cycle a tank that size would be to use a canister filter, which would increase your water volume (essentially you'd have a "bigger" tank for bacteria to colonize) and provide an oxygenated place for BB to grow. I know drsfostersmith.com has a really nice mini canister filter.

Honestly though, I'd just get a 5 gallon because it will cost the same amount to set up and your fish gets more space :)
Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:11 PM   #3 
ao
TFK Moderator
 
ao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
completely possible :)
ao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:12 PM   #4 
MyRainbowBettaFish
Member
 
MyRainbowBettaFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
yay! I have a 3 gallon with an internal filter, and i have been doing frequent water changes because i didn't know if my tank could cycle or not :)
MyRainbowBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:14 PM   #5 
ao
TFK Moderator
 
ao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NYC
you will need a test kit though :) because as poster above said... if you dont have enough surface atea. the cycle may not be stable. But I think generally with the relatively low bioload of a betta fish. it should be able to cycle
ao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:05 AM   #6 
Oldfishlady
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
See if this sticky will help answer your questions....

http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=107771
Oldfishlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's quite nearly impossible, isn't it? BlakbirdxGyarados Betta Chat 7 03-08-2011 01:35 PM
Anyone else's betta impossible to get a picture of? Philip The Fish Betta Pictures 8 05-14-2009 10:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.