Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-22-2012, 09:47 PM   #1 
Blacklight

Medicating a Betta for ick

I'm re-posting this as I have another topic on the board that I think people have lost interest in and figured things were answered in. I have one simple question. My fish has Ick. I have a bottle of API Super Ick treatment. I know that this is a dumb question, but I've never done this before. You keep the fish in the tank when you put the treatment in, right? Please forgive my incredible stupidity.
Blacklight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:53 PM   #2 
MyRainbowBettaFish

that is correct, and no, you are not stupid! Ick should look like your fish is sprinkled in salt or sugar, and rubs on objects. how big is your tank, so we can figure the dose?
MyRainbowBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:57 PM   #3 
Blacklight

I have a five gallon tank with a couple of decorations, internal tetra whisper filter (that looks like a cup), a tetra underwater heater, and filled to within about an inch and a half to the top.
The bottle says to add 5 ml per 5 gallons.
Should I use the full 5 ml or should I cut it down a little?

I'm sorry if I need hand holding. But I really want to do things right.
I'll put it in right away once I make sure that things are proper. Thank you very much for helping.

Last edited by Blacklight; 10-22-2012 at 10:09 PM.
Old 10-22-2012, 10:12 PM   #4 
ANHEL123

Didn't read your previous post but are you sure your betta has ick?
Remove the filter and wash it in the hot boiling water, don't keep cartridge though. But filter it self wash with boiling water and put it outside or inside for a few days or more to air dry it. This will kill parasites,they die without host. I understood you don't have live plants, right?