Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-25-2012, 08:08 PM   #1 
Frsher

Help: I can't get the temp regulated on my tank

Hi

I am new to aquariums. Someone gifted me with a Betta and I am trying to keep it alive. It came to me with a 1 gallon tank. Took me about a month and some research and I upped the tank to a 2.5. i can't go higher at the moment, I don't have the table room. My problem:

I bought a heater for the small tank. It said it was for a .5 to 1 gallon mini tank. The heat went to 91. I bought a new heater. Second heater did the same thing. I bought a bigger tank. Used the same heater figuring since the small heater was for a very small tank, more water would mean the temp wouldn't go as high. WRONG. Tank went to 91.

So I took the heater out of the equation.

I read that the filter does emit some heat in the tank and with the light, maybe it would be the right time. Worked well. Temp went to 81. Wonderful. Until I had to turn the light off at night. Then it was 74. Next night, with the light on, it went to 85. Have no idea where it will end up next time.

I went to 3 different aquarium stores, one of which is very well known. All they wanted me to do was buy another aquarium. One tried to tell me that Betta's don't need to be kept warm. One suggested I get a heating pad. I wasn't sure if that meant an actual heating pad or it was a different kind of heater.

How do I keep the temp regulated? Another heater? I can't find a mini that where I can adjust the temp.

Can someone help me please? I really like my fish and would like to keep him.

Thanks in advance.
Frsher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:35 PM   #2 
craftyjag