Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2012, 08:40 PM   #1 
STM2121
New Member
 
STM2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Paramus,NJ
New tank

Not sure if this is the correct section for this. So I decided to upgrade from a 2 gallon to a 10 gallon. I just set it all up, turn the filter on and black stuff was coming out. I realized it was carbon and that I was supposed to rinse the carbon bag, I didn't know. It didn't say on the directions.

So do I have to take all the water out and clean it out, or is it ok and it will settle to the bottom? Thanks
STM2121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 09:08 PM   #2 
megaredize
Member
 
megaredize's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
i would think it will clear itself out. ive never forgotten to rinse my carbon so im not 100% sure but if it happened to me i think i would leave it or do a partial water change. oh and just so you know carbon has to be changed every 30 days or it will leach out the toxins it absorbed back into the tank. and it will kill of medications so it needs to be removed during medication use. you might already know though
megaredize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:18 PM   #3 
STM2121
New Member
 
STM2121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Paramus,NJ
The water is crystal clear. It didn't seem to be too much that went in. But enough for me to notice when I first turned it on.
STM2121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.