Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-26-2012, 10:15 AM   #1 
Friendlyfishies

how would you keep a tank cycled if the power went out?

Im still learning so correct me if im wrong...but if you cycle a tank & the power goes out for a few days would you loose your cycle as the filter is no longer running? What would happen, would ammonia spike suddenly? Is there anything you could do to keep from losing your cycle? I live in a very cold wintery state where we lose power probably 10 times in the course of the winter...is it even worth it for me to cycle my tanks? Im right in the beginning of cycling my 20 gallon long...now im wondering if the hurricane hits us and we lose power, will all the cycling be a lost cause? Im not appose to heavily planting tanks, If I lose the cycle I may not restart it if a heavily planted tank will do the same work as a cycle? lots to ponder...
Friendlyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:09 AM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Live plants are your friend when you don't have power.....Our power goes out a few times a year too and sometimes it is week to 10 days before we get it back-especially in the winter with ice storms. Then not only do you deal with no filter-its no lights or heaters. As long as the water temps don't stay below 50F for too long-usually the fish will be fine-or at least mine all survived a couple of winters ago when that happened. I opened the curtains during the day to let in the light for the plants. I did cup up a few of the more important breeder and place them over the fireplace. Totally stop feeding-no food-let the fish kinda hibernate or go dormant-in a way-since tropical fish don't really do that-but they don't need to eat.

When the power goes out and you are going into the 5-6th hour or the power is expected to be out for a long time.