Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-12-2008, 06:57 PM   #1 
puff

bertie seems bored!

Hey y'all,
my husband gifted me a betta fish ( named him Bertie!) today for Valentine's day.....:)
I have been reading online forums about them, and they seem to be really intelligent.
I've never had a pet fish before, so I don't really know too much about caring for them....however it seems like the mantra is to Change their water every 5 days and feed them a varied diet.
I had a few questions though:
Are these fish really intelligent? I have no experience with them and do not know usual fish mannerisms....
Would they start recognizing me after a bit? I have fallen in love with Bertie Already( he does not like my singing to him too much I think! :P )
DO they interact with people? I read somewhere that they sulk if not happy!
How can I make sure that Bertie's always happy? He looks bored to me!
I also have an interesting situation - I am a vegetarian and so am not too comfortable feeding Bertie live food....would that be OK for his diet? I could always make alternate arrangements.

Thanks guys!
puff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 07:33 PM   #2 
bettababy

Your betta can live and thrive on just betta pellets if need be. To keep him the happiest and healthiest you'll want to keep him warm (78 - 82 Farenheit) and temp stable, and his water clean.
How big of a tank is he in? Lots of decorations will give him plenty of hiding places and will help to avoid stress, and with enough things in his tank to do, he won't get bored, either.

Yes, bettas will learn to recognize you and they can be very interactive if you take the time to spend with him. You can also put a mirror next to his tank for an hour a few times/wk to help him with boredom, but don't overdo the mirror. Too much of the mirror or for too long at a time can cause a lot of stress.