Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Spawn Logs
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-26-2012, 03:34 PM   #1 
checkerzelda

[Log #3] Red Dragon HMPK x Red Dragon HM (July 2012)

Hi all, so after my previous CT spawn (which brought me a lot of joy and valuable learning experience), I've been experimenting with Red Dragons HMs since July 2012. They're one of the strains I'm completely mesmerized by, and I remember it was like dream come true when I obtained my first pair. I bought them from a renowned local breeder online for a ok price in February. Sadly though, the male passed on only about 3 months after I had him from some tumorous growth on his side despite all my TLC. This was him at his prime:
Picture. He was a bit of a rosetail.

I never did manage to find a replacement HM male for his sibling. They're quite rare here. However I managed to secure a full mask Red Dragon HMPK import for approx USD17 during a pet fair. I didn't really know what to expect from a cross between HM and HMPK..I heard there is a chance that HMs could appear so I just went for it. Plus, considering the HM female's sibling was a rosetail, thought that having HMPK genes would somewhat balance it out.

First try
So I spawned them on 9 July 2012. Everything went smoothly, too good to be true...there's gotta be over 200 eggs..until the next morning when I found them all gone. Dad ate all the eggs...along with my heart, lol. After scouring the tank, I found only 10 eggs left. Took out the dad, left the eggs there and 3.5 months later, today, I have 9 adult babies with me (one jumped out from his container a few weeks ago) :/. One grew up to be a breathtaking Red Dragon HM I wouldn't even dream of owning. This is him today:

Second try