Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-29-2012, 06:43 PM   #1 
Juicebox

Plants for gravel and low light

hey all

I have a 14 gallon tank,im kind of new to fish keeping, i currently have a few plastic plants in my tank and some black gravel from petco.is there any type of plants or moss balls that i can put into my tank? i was hoping there is something i can put in and not have to worry too much about,id rather not have to buy expensive light bulbs and a new hood to fit the bulbs in. im just using the light bulbs are that came with my aqueon tank.

in the future i would try a fancy properly lighted tank with some great plants but for now im just trying to start at an amateur level with some easy set up and plants if thats even possible,ive seen some videos on youtube that lookedlike that guiys didnt have special lighting or soil for their plants

id really appreciate any info and sorry if this has all been asked before,i did read the sticky but that seems to be geared more towards a full soil based eco system,that is too much for me to try take on at the moment
Juicebox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:15 PM   #2 
LeoTheLakerBetta

I would give anacharis plant a try. In my tank it is growing great with a decent amount of light and just gravel. I don't give it any fertilizer tabs or anything. Its just there and has been growing for almost 11 months now. I would put it near the filter flow/output; mine seems to grow very nicely when it is near that.
LeoTheLakerBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 08:34 PM   #3 
kingofthefishppl