Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2014, 07:38 PM   #1 
MameJenny
Member
 
MameJenny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Colorado
Cycle messed up from broken filter?

So yesterday, during a routine water test, I discovered that my 2.5 gallon heavily planted betta tank had .25 ppm of ammonia. While trying to figure out what caused the spike, I discovered that the filter was clogged. I have no idea how long it was like that, but I know it was working when I did a water change 3 days before. There was still water in the bottom of the filter, so I don't think the media dried out. (I have a piece of Aquaclear sponge, a very old bag of carbon, and about 10-15 pieces of ceramic media in there. It's an Aqueon Quietflow 10 filter.)

So, I unclogged the filter and added several pieces of ceramic media from my other tank, to give the bacteria a boost. I tested this morning, and the ammonia was probably around .30 to .40. I did a 50% water change. I tested again a few minutes ago (about 8 hours after the water change), and the ammonia is back at a little above .25. The nitrites are, and have been, 0. Before this, the tank was very stable, and it's been cycled for around 1 1/2 months.

Is the tank going to go through a full-fledged cycle because of the filter malfunction? I'd think that the gravel and plants would have some beneficial bacteria on them too, right? Should I move the non-plant inhabitants (a betta and a zebra nerite) out until the levels stabilize? The tank has Miracle Gro soil, which I know causes crazily high ammonia/nitrite levels in uncycled tanks, so I'm worried about that...
MameJenny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:42 PM   #2 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
No, you won't be starting over with the cycle. It's just going to take a little time to balance again. Mini cycles don't usually last too long.
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 12:45 PM   #3 
mpooyan83
Member
 
mpooyan83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Aurora, CO
You will have bacteria in the Gravel, on plants, decorations, ... everywhere in the tank. Just not as much as you have in the filter. Even if you completely changed out the filter. You still wouldnt be starting over 100%.
mpooyan83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter changed messed up my water- advice? Winged Mermaid Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 02-08-2014 03:34 AM
Okay, I messed up :(...is it possible to cycle a tank with a betta in? Blue Fish Betta Fish Care 4 06-24-2012 02:14 AM
Messed up cycle. Can it be fixed? sandinourshorts Betta Fish Care 6 04-01-2012 03:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.