Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2012, 07:58 PM   #1 
Newtonbetta
Member
 
Newtonbetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
60 days and still not cycled

10 gal, filtered, heated, divided, one betta on each side..

It's been 60 days since i did a 100% water change of a fully cycled tank - I was moving apartments. I unfortunately let the biological filter dry out over a few hours before re-filling. One of my fish died within 24 hours. I replaced that fish with a new one and for now he appears healthy.

That was two months ago. My specs are below. I have been unable to get ammonia under 1.0 for two months! I do 50% water changes 1x a week.

Ammonia 1.0 pph
ph 6.2
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0

The only thing that I can tell you about my water source is we had to have the acid neutralizer filters replaced... It's a new building.
Newtonbetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:35 PM   #2 
Wendyjo
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
What kind of filter is it? You reading should be way different than that after all this time. What kind of test kit are you using and how old is it?

That amount of ammonia is too high for the fish. I'd increase the water changes for the health of the fish.
Wendyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:50 PM   #3 
jake1515
Member
 
jake1515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: MA, USA
holy moly that must be super frustrating. Maybe get plants if you don't already have any?
jake1515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:17 PM   #4 
Canuck Fins
Member
 
Canuck Fins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
WendyJo asked the same thing I was wondering about. What sort of test kit are you using? A liquid test kit is more accurate than test strips for sure. Have you tested your water source to see if it has ammonia in it before it goes into the tank? In some place, water can have ammonia.

Also what sort of media do you have in the tank? Do you have a gravel bottom and sponges in the filter? Is there a way to increase the breeding places for those good bacteria?
Canuck Fins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 02:48 AM   #5 
Silverfang
Member
 
Silverfang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newfoundland
I believe if you use prime, you can sometimes get a false reading for ammonia as well.
Silverfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:18 AM   #6 
ravenwinds
Member
 
ravenwinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Merlin, Oregon
I did not know that about Prime.
ravenwinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:23 AM   #7 
Newtonbetta
Member
 
Newtonbetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks for all the responses. I was using older test strips from Mardel, and they had expired, and I heard the API liquid test kit was best, so I bought it.. And used it, and that is what those readings are from.

I don't use prime. My filter is a 2-year old Aquaclear 20. Carbon filter and the ceramic biofilter pellets. Can these pellets lose their effectiveness? I wouldnt think so.. I also have gravel on the bottom.

Could it be my water? Like I said, its a new building. Its very acidic water.
Newtonbetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:56 PM   #8 
Silverfang
Member
 
Silverfang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newfoundland
uhm.. how old are the filter inserts? They do need to be changed periodically. The sponge will last for a long time, but the carbon and bio max need to be changed more often to remain effective. I just use the foam sponges in mine.
Silverfang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:00 PM   #9 
Karebear13
Member
 
Karebear13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I have the same problem. You should check the parameters of the tap water. My tap water has about .5ppm ammonia which messed with my cycle
Karebear13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:02 PM   #10 
LebronTheBetta
Member
 
LebronTheBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MD
It's the pH. Anything below 7.0 will turn the ammonia into ammonium, that's what I've heard.
LebronTheBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please tell me it has cycled. labloverl Betta Fish Care 12 09-17-2012 08:49 PM
Is it Cycled? simplykayla76 Other Fish 1 07-08-2012 12:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.