Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-31-2012, 10:27 PM   #1 
madmonahan

Question AFTER breeding

Im WANTING to breed bettas this summer but not very sure, i'v been doing research and I want to breed petstore bettas because this is my first time and I don't want to spend $50 and it not work out.....but that's not what I want to talk about, I want to be ready for everything I can. I don't know what I would do with the fry...I don't want to ship any and them arrive DOA because iv never done it before. But I can't KEEP them. I'm just worried about how I'm going to ship them and what will happen....any opinions??

PS.don't know if I will breed, just keep that in mind ;)
madmonahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:08 AM   #2 
vilmarisv

I'm very close to dealing this with this.
There is a lot of information out there about shipping fish and how to properly pack them.
Check out the website BasementBettas.com and look under Showing fish> Bagging fish for shows.
Althought you are not showing, some of the information applies for shipping your fish. There's a link for a video at the bottom of the Bagging page.
I think that receiving a properly packed fish from a breeder will give you a great visual. I've received dozens of shipments and just got one yesterday which I kept to refer to when my time comes.
There's some cost that goes into getting the proper supplies for shipping. You will need bags, heat packs, boxes, and insulating material.
IMO/E no part of breeding bettas is cheap.
I encourge you to join the IBC, there you can get excellent information from active breeders.
vilmarisv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:37 AM   #3 
bettalover2033