Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2012, 08:40 PM   #21 
LeoTheLakerBetta
Member
 
LeoTheLakerBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: You tell me.
RedRaz you said it wayy better; I kind of overdid it sorry lol!
LeoTheLakerBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:41 PM   #22 
RedRaz
Member
 
RedRaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoTheLakerBetta View Post
RedRaz you said it wayy better; I kind of overdid it sorry lol!
You said it perfectly! ;)
RedRaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:45 PM   #23 
RedRaz
Member
 
RedRaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
You should also test your tap water to see what the pH is normally. Mine is at 6.6 but when I condition the water it is at 7.6. Kinda helps to know what affects your water levels.

Are you planning to cycle your tank?

Oh I almost forgot with the baffle have some thing weighted at the end that hangs off the tank. That might help keep it in place. That video I posted on your FB post kinda shows you how it would look.
RedRaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:47 PM   #24 
Alcemistnv
Member
 
Alcemistnv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange/Ulster County, New York
mine is normally at 7.2 :)

And thanks you guys ^^ For some reason I was worried the tank was worse because of the pH level. I understand that the ammonia should be under 1, but I never knew about the pH.

I am planning on doing a fish-in cycle. It worked with the 5 gallon, so it should work this time. Unfortunately, my hornwort is DEAD. I found too many snails on it to be happy, and the plants from Petco cost $7.99 a piece.. -.-
Alcemistnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:53 PM   #25 
LeoTheLakerBetta
Member
 
LeoTheLakerBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: You tell me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRaz View Post
You said it perfectly! ;)
Lol thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alcemistnv View Post
mine is normally at 7.2 :)

And thanks you guys ^^ For some reason I was worried the tank was worse because of the pH level. I understand that the ammonia should be under 1, but I never knew about the pH.

I am planning on doing a fish-in cycle. It worked with the 5 gallon, so it should work this time. Unfortunately, my hornwort is DEAD. I found too many snails on it to be happy, and the plants from Petco cost $7.99 a piece.. -.-
That's the only downside with live plants; they can die or they can have a ton of snails. Or both :/ Sadly, for me I didn't know I should've quarantined my new live plant and now I am still dealing with those pesky snails. Oh well, good luck with cycle!
LeoTheLakerBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:54 PM   #26 
RedRaz
Member
 
RedRaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
No worries. So many things it can be a bit confusing. ;) Oh okay that be good then. Espcially because you have done it before. Oh yeah I bought hornwort from there too and yes way too many snails. Awww that is too bad. $7.99 is a lot. :(
RedRaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:56 PM   #27 
Alcemistnv
Member
 
Alcemistnv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange/Ulster County, New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeoTheLakerBetta View Post
Lol thanks


That's the only downside with live plants; they can die or they can have a ton of snails. Or both :/ Sadly, for me I didn't know I should've quarantined my new live plant and now I am still dealing with those pesky snails. Oh well, good luck with cycle!
Thanks :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRaz View Post
No worries. So many things it can be a bit confusing. ;) Oh okay that be good then. Espcially because you have done it before. Oh yeah I bought hornwort from there too and yes way too many snails. Awww that is too bad. $7.99 is a lot. :(
I got my hornwort from a pet store for $3 less ;)

Does anyone know when I should add my cories? :<
Alcemistnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:58 PM   #28 
RedRaz
Member
 
RedRaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Maybe wait til tomorrow? Just so the tank has time to settle. I never did a fish in cycle before though. Did you use aged water?
RedRaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:30 PM   #29 
Alcemistnv
Member
 
Alcemistnv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange/Ulster County, New York
I actually didn't used aged water, just the water from the tub.

Should I wait to add Jingles as well tomorrow, or longer? Or should I just put him in there tomorrow/tonight?
Alcemistnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:35 PM   #30 
RedRaz
Member
 
RedRaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Yeah I would wait til tomorrow night. Just to make sure the water has been fully dechlorinated and what not. I would also test the water again tomorrow to make sure the levels are good. Maybe pm OFL to make sure. I'm still learning about all this as well so would hate to tell you the wrong thing.
RedRaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.