Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-01-2012, 01:05 PM   #1 
sainthogan

ammonia level in tap water

Ok, so now that I got my water testing kit, I tested my tap water without any conditioners just to see what it said. The PH level is 7.4 and the ammonia is .25. Nitrates and Nitrites are 0. Remember this is my tap water not my tank water.
My question is, what do I do about the ammonia level of my tap water before putting it in the tank?
I've been using this water for 3 months before I could finally get my testing kit. (the strip kit I had was defective - I poured straight ammonia into a tub of water and it still read 0)
Generally, I do 50% change once a week. This last time, I went a little longer and the ammonia was still at .25. I only had one small live plant in there for a while, but now I have 2 - the second one is a Lilly that I started from a bulb and it's getting huge very quickly.
BTW - this is a 5 gallon, filter tank.
sainthogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 01:19 PM   #2 
sainthogan

Just a little added information - I tested the levels in my tank BEFORE the Lilly sprouted. In just under a week, it's taken off and has tons of leaves and roots, so I'm going to test my tank water again today when I get off work this afternoon. I'd really prefer not to have to put any chemicals in the water to get rid of the tap water ammonia if my plants and filter will take care of it.
Old 11-01-2012, 01:34 PM   #3 
megaredize

i would use Prime water conditioner if your not already using it. it also detoxifies ammonia.