Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-08-2012, 02:46 PM   #1 
candymoon

Help! My fish has a bloat and I don't know what to do.

Hello! My name is Candy and I am new to taking care of Bettas. I have a fish name Bellerophon and he has been acting fine. He is in a large tanks that is heated and lighted (I chose not to use a filter since he is a halfmoon and I have heard horror stories of them not being able to swim away from the filter). He eats aggressively (I feed him two pellets once a day), and every time I come up to his tank he puffs out at me and wiggles like the wants to fight. He is also building huge bubble nests. However today after I came back to my dorm I noticed he had a small bulge under his front fins/gill area. My Betta book says it might be an infection, but I read some forums where it said it could be constipation. So I don't know which method to take. I head fasting, skinned peas, and medicines are all treatment options. So I need advice on that. I also need advice on this, he has a full water change coming up-- tomorrow, in fact. During this time I was going to add some salt in to help keep him safe. However now, if he is sick, I don't want to stress him out so...I don't know what I should do. I could do a smaller water change, but I am still worried that will stress him out too, and if is an infection then he probably needs a full one. So please, ANY help would be wonderful! I'm really scared about this...
candymoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 03:19 PM   #2 
candymoon

I just found this, so I will go on and post it.

Housing
What size is your tank? 3 Gallons
What temperature is your tank? 75 degrees
Does your tank have a filter? No
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? None

Food