Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-12-2012, 12:23 PM   #1 
laurenmekal

how to get the look of a heavily planted tank with silk plants

i would love to be able to have a tank that looks like this

or this

but i do not want to use live plants so i dont have to risk messing up the balance of my tank.

is it difficult to introduce live plants to a tank that my betta is already in / would the upkeep be difficult? i am in college and have pretty limited funds / resources.
or would it be be better for the tank / cheaper to just attempt to get the look using silk plants?
this is my tank now

thanks for reading all my posts, im a newbie and i have alot of questions!
Attached Images

laurenmekal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:36 PM   #2 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator

Hi there you could do some beginner plants that are easy to care for like I have. I have a lot of Anacharis and some Hornwort and attached the Hornwort with a rubberband to and ornament and it looks great like a underwater bush. The Anacharis I just let float while pushing the stems down to the middle of the tank. Live plants are great for your tank the best thing you can buy for sure and my Betta loves to swim though them and sleeps in the Anacharis. I got mine from ebay if you would like the link let me know, the guy I got them from has great plants and he also treats for snails which do come with most plants. Its always best to QT any live plants for a week and check for any hitchhikers that might be hiding on the plants like snails.
Perseusmom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 12:39 PM   #3 
laurenmekal

thanks so much! i will definitely look into it. i dont want to stress my girl out more than i have to, i had to evacuate her through the hurricane and im going to have to take her home for thanksgiving and christmas /: