Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-13-2012, 11:44 AM   #1 
stellar981

First water change...advice?

Hi.. As many of you may recognize my handle now.. I am still very new to this. Just got my Betta this past weekend. And in following the directions to do a water change twice a week for the cycling period, tomorrow will be my first water change. I am wondering the following (I have a ten gallow tank):

1) What tools do people mainly use? I have only really read about syphens. But then I saw a mention of a vacuum too.. What is everyone's personal preference?

2) In changing the water twice weekly, how often should I be cleaning down in the gravel. Does anyone know of a good video to watch on YouTube that really shows this process?

Any tips about water changes and things to look out for will be very appreciated. I am also going to be getting a test kit. I have the strips but have been told they arent as accurate. I have read that I should be testing for Nitrites, Nitrates, Ammonia and pH. Should this test be done before or after the water change? I will be ordering the API test kit on Amazon due to the exremely good price. Is there anything I can purchase in the meantime until that arrives that will hold me over?

Thanks as always for everyone's help in advance!
stellar981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 12:04 PM   #2 
Freyja
Banned

Best place to start: http://www.bettafish.com/showthread.php?t=115758
As far as testing goes, test your water straight out of the tap so you know what your tap params look like pre-conditioner and test your tank water before water changes.
Freyja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 12:21 PM   #3 
Perseusmom
TFK Moderator