Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-15-2012, 06:01 PM   #1 
daylily

newbie - is this a good set up? 5 gal. Fluval Spec

I bought a Fluval Spec V - 5 gallon - a few weeks ago. Lucky that I found a local fish club person who offered some plants to me to try. I am new at having an aquarium. I think the cycle is about over - the plant guy also gave me "seeding" material.

I am wondering if there is anything I am overlooking here for a Betta. At first, I didn't think about sharp stones, so yesterday during the water change, I took out all the sharp or rough stones.

I hope this link works - been a while since I used Photobucket.

I have terribly hard water - so am using 75% RO and 25% well water. PH has still been a bit high at 7.6 so it was recommended to me that I get something to lower the PH - I think it was PH Down and treat the water before putting it in. I've been searching for the PH that bettas would prefer, but there is quite a range on different sources online.

Does anyone see anything I should do different in the tank before getting a betta?

Because I have so many plants, should I look for a Plakat or a female so fins will be smaller--- or will a longer fin one do ok in with all these plants?

Thanks!
daylily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:39 PM   #2 
inuudo

Looks beautiful! Any betta you put in there will be super happy. And don't worry about a 7.6 pH -- it's fine.
inuudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:49 PM   #3 
paloverde

Looks really nice, careful with the 75/25 mix you could have an sudden and tragic ph crash. So the tank was seeded, how have you been feeding the bb ?
paloverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:56 PM   #4 
Friendlyfishies