Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2012, 03:05 AM   #1 
mstenorsaxplayer
Member
 
mstenorsaxplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Filters

I recently installed an elite mini filter in my veiltail's tank. It was too strong for him because he is sick, so I had to baffle it. Well, I noticed some red in his fins which I know can be a result of ammonia poisoning. I was wondering if filters will filter our water conditioners. I use Jungle Start Right, and Tetra Easy Balance to get rid of ammonia, heavy medals, and chlorine. Would it filter any of these out? Also, I am about to start him on some meds for an internal parasite. Should I take the filter out for that?
mstenorsaxplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:00 AM   #2 
whatsupyall
Member
 
whatsupyall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California
When treating for disease/illness, I recommend no filtration as the medication needs to work it's magic. I'm not sure if filtration will filter out the meds, but it I imagine it would be more effective without it. In addition, when treating, I prefer to take the fish out of it's home and put it in a so called 'hospital' tank to medicate.
whatsupyall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:53 AM   #3 
mstenorsaxplayer
Member
 
mstenorsaxplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Okay. Thanks :) DO you think it will filter out water conditioner?
mstenorsaxplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:33 PM   #4 
gemsbok
New Member
 
gemsbok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Water conditioner cannot be filtered out of a tank before it has a chance to work. It acts on the chlorides in the water immediately after being added, so there's no time for the filter to get rid of it. You should be adding conditioner to your water before putting it in the tank anyway. If you're using medicine, you have to take out any carbon in your filter beforehand, as carbon can draw meds out of the water column.
gemsbok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:15 PM   #5 
sainthogan
Member
 
sainthogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Red River, NM
generally they recommend that you remove the filter medium when using medication as they tend to counteract each other. So, you could just turn off the filter, but still remove its cartridge and everything should be fine. You could leave the filter running without the cartridge, but since you said he was in a weakened state, I would recommend completely turning it off. (I leave mine running because she tends to freak out if the water stops flowing, but I remove the cartridge)
sainthogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:54 PM   #6 
mstenorsaxplayer
Member
 
mstenorsaxplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thanks y'all. :)
mstenorsaxplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:55 PM   #7 
Wendyjo
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
You only need to remove carbon when medicating - you do not need to remove the rest of the media or the filter itself. It doesn't make much of a difference for a betta since they breathe from the surface, but for other fish you typically would want to keep the filter in and even add an airstone as some meds affect the amount of oxygen in the water.

If you're worried about ammonia then I would suggest testing for it.
Wendyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:52 PM   #8 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
^ +1

Carbon removes meds and other organics but, as Gemsbok notes, not conditioner.. If your tank is cycled, you'll need to keep your filter media in and your filter running.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #9 
mstenorsaxplayer
Member
 
mstenorsaxplayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Alright. Thanks y'all! :)
mstenorsaxplayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:07 AM   #10 
Wendyjo
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I'm pretty sure the tank isn't cycled.
Wendyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are sponge filters better than internal or external filters? Hopeseeker Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 2 02-29-2012 06:41 PM
can i use under gravel filters instead of filters that aren't under gravel? irbyma7297 Betta Fish Care 7 11-30-2011 08:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.