Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-18-2012, 04:57 PM   #1 
paris38
Member
 
paris38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Co2?

Hey guys!I'm going to be setting up a npt soon and would like to know if I need any CO2 injections.Do any of you guys use it?Is it needed for a npt?
paris38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:50 PM   #2 
babystarz
Member
 
babystarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Nope, I go way low tech with my tanks. I do use Flourish and Flourish Excel (a CO2 substitute) in some of my tanks. If you decide to use Flourish Excel, be VERY careful with it - don't use it on a new tank, and use less than the recommended dose for tanks with crypts and wisteria. I prefer to start out with 1/3 the recommended dose after a tank has been established for a week or so and gradually work up from there.

Depending on your plants, you don't even need to use fertilizer since in an NPT the soil provides sufficient nutrients to roots.
babystarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:51 PM   #3 
paris38
Member
 
paris38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Thanks for the info babystarz!
paris38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:00 PM   #4 
Kytkattin
Member
 
Kytkattin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Also be careful with the Flourish Excel if you have a Marimo as a few members have had their's turn brown after dosing! Excel is great with getting rid of algae, which a Marimo moss ball, despite the name, is.
Kytkattin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:35 PM   #5 
kustomlarry
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Chester, PA
I agree. Basic is the way to go. I actually found fertilizer from selectaquatics.com.

The stuff is great.
kustomlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:13 AM   #6 
paris38
Member
 
paris38's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Thanks for the info!I do have a marmio moss ball in my tank so that could of turned out bad.I really want to just go low tech on my tank so I'm glad CO2 isn't really needed.
paris38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:13 AM   #7 
kustomlarry
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Chester, PA
People have been successful with plants for years without co2 and undergravel heaters, etc.
kustomlarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:55 AM   #8 
Shrimpsta
New Member
 
Shrimpsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I use a DIY co2 (water,sugar,yeast) for 1 week and I've notice some of my plants are making more bubbles.
Shrimpsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.