Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-22-2012, 05:03 AM   #1 
pomsbz

Killer Betta

Hi,

I have a Betta in a 17 gallon tank. This is my first time owning a tank and when I bought the Betta with a bunch of other fish I had no idea what I was buying other than that is was very pretty. I had asked the guy in the fish store to warn me of incompatibilities, boy he must have been laughing as I went back again and again as my Betta killed 21 other fish over the next couple of months. Being new to it all I had assumed my tank was at fault and kept on buying in batches of 5 until a friend said 'do you realise you have a Japanese Fighting Fish in there?'.

It is a gorgeous fish though and I can't bear to part with it, its genocidal tendencies apart .

Big tank though for a single fish. I really would like to add more but want to know what. I read that Neon Tetras work well if you buy a sufficient amount of them. Not really interested in non fish solutions such as shrimp.

Any help would be much appreciated!
pomsbz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:41 AM   #2 
Olympia
TFK Moderator

I wouldn't risk anymore fish in there. Best solution is if you get the betta a small tank of his own and then use the bigger tank for other fish.
Posted via Mobile Device
Olympia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 01:37 PM   #3 
AquaticGirl101

I would agree with Olympia. Just get your betta a smaller tank like the mini bow 5 gallon. Use the 17 gallon for other fish and you'll be much happier :) You could get a molly or two, or guppies, or neon tetras, make it goldfish tank... Many possibilities!!
AquaticGirl101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 01:57 PM   #4 
homegrown terror