Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-30-2012, 07:07 PM   #1 
BrandonApollo

The Vacationer's Dilemma...

Okay, so I'm a college student, and we're going on winter break in 3 weeks. Winter break is 5 weeks long. I have someone to take care of Apollo, my elephant ear Betta, for the last three weeks of the break. I was wondering what my options were for the first two weeks. I was thinking if I put in a couple of ghost shrimp he'd be alright (he's eaten a few of those before when I was trying to give him some friends).

I know that the two week feeder tablets mess up the water, but if I do a water change right before I leave and then the girl he's staying with does one when she gets back after the first 2 weeks, would this be alright too?

What size is your tank? 2 gallons (it was either that or a slow painful death at petco, your choice)

What temperature is your tank? Room Temperature (Normally around 74)

Does your tank have a filter?no

Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? yes

Is your tank heated? no

What tank mates does your betta fish live with? none (for now)

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? Hikari Bloodworm Pellets

How often do you feed your betta fish? 2x a day as of recent. 3 pellets each feeding, so he can build up some fat should I not have another option. Normally he gets three in the morning and one at night.

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change? Once ever 2 weeks ish

What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 50%

What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? none besides the water conditioner.
BrandonApollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:20 PM   #2 
sunstar93