Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2012, 10:58 PM   #1 
ANHEL123
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Are these readings safe for betta?

Hey everyone, i just saw this post on yahoo. Can someone help so i can give advice? I don't check my water and i don't cycle so i don't know the answer.

I just took a test strip and put it in my new tank water. Is the water safe to put my betta fish in?
This is the aquarium:
http://www.amazon.com/Tetra-29137-Wa...+water+wonders

And here's a pic of the readings:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/90638343@N06/

Thank you.

The tank has a filter and is heated to 80 degrees. Dechlorinated as well and has betta fish medication in it to get rid of all the bacteria he's has to endure in his horrid little cup.
Does everything look okay?
ANHEL123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:07 PM   #2 
whiskandbowl
Member
 
whiskandbowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PA
An ammonia reading would also be of help. I'm not seeing any nitrates, which you would normally want to see in a properly cycled tank.

The thing is though, is that tanks under 4-5 gallons are really hard to cycle, so for a 1.5 gal tank you are just better off doing waterchanges. There's a really good sticky outlining water changes on the forum
whiskandbowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:08 PM   #3 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
1.5 gallons is relatively small but will be okay if you keep up with water changes. Most people do not recommend filters in anything smaller than a 5 gallon and it's not needed if you're not going to cycle your tank, but the temperature is good. I don't use test strips but the PH is not a big deal as long as it's not a huge difference in the tank as in his cup. Ideally, it should read 0ammonia, nitrites and nitrates. I can't really read it.

The tank should have plenty of hiding spots and tall plants as they like cover. Make sure he has east access to the water surface since it's a taller tank. And most importantly, water changes!! Your betta will thank you :)
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:16 PM   #4 
babystarz
Member
 
babystarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Most people recommend liquid test kits over strips, because strips are more likely to be unreliable. But use them up before going with a liquid kit :P

Your readings look fine, although as someone else mentioned, the only one that matters very much for bettas is ammonia. They are very hardy in a variety of pH ranges and hardness.

Remember to slowly acclimate your fish :) The change from dirty pet store water to clean medicated water might be stressful for his body.
babystarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:24 PM   #5 
ANHEL123
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Thank you guys very much for fast response. I gave the person my recommendation and i gave him the link for this post, so hopefully he will check this out.
ANHEL123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 11:26 PM   #6 
babystarz
Member
 
babystarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
That was really nice of you :)
babystarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.