Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-02-2012, 10:32 PM   #1 
Dameon

Starting a Betta tank, need some help!

This forum needs a general "beginner" section as it is a bit overwhelming...

I am wanting to set up a Betta tank in my home office. I have a lot of experience with aquariums, mostly tropical freshwater and currently have two set up. I've never had Bettas before though and wanted to try them. Unfortunately, I have found a lot of very contradictory information or am simply overwhelmed.

So I have a few questions and I would appreciate some simple answers:

1. Originally I was looking at a cute little 3.5 gallon tank but quickly realized a 10gallon would be better, but I know form experience there are many who will tell you that you need a bathtub for your guppy. So is 10gal overkill for 1 Betta and is 3.5gal really too little?

2. I'd like to have live plants in my Betta tank, but it is going in my office which gets very little natural light. The tank would have LEDs and the office is lit with florescents. Should I even bother trying with live plants?

3. If I can do live plants, what are good varieties that Bettas prefer and what ones should I avoid?

4. I'd read that you can have 1 male and two females and other places say that's really bad. So which is it? Is my Betta-to-be sentenced to a solitary life in his little world?

5. Do Bettas get lonely? What other fish would work well with Bettas in a small tank?

6. What sort of tank cleaners (algae eaters, snails, etc) work well in Betta tanks?

7. When I go to cycle the tank, can I use one of the used filters from my other tropical tanks to help or is that going to be a bad mix of bacteria for a Betta?