Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-24-2008, 01:56 PM   #1 
tran2255

Can Blue gouramis tolerate salt?

Hi everyone, I just have a question that I can't find the answer to online. I got a tank which I use to house some platies and ballon mollies. I'm thinking of adding some blue and opaline gouramis to the tank, but am worried about the salinity of my tank being a problem. As of now I have a 45 gal tank and add about a teaspoon of salt per gallon. Can gouramis tolerate this much salt? Will it be a problem? Thanks a lot everybody and i really appreciate your help.
tran2255 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 02:42 PM   #2 
kevinoh33

im not an expert, but in petsmart the label says that gouramis NEED aquarium salt
kevinoh33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 02:52 PM   #3 
Falina

Gouramis certainly do not need salt!

I wouldn't personally add them. Gouramis have a lower tolerance to salt than most FW fish, and long term it I can't imaine it would be very good for their health. Certainly for a short period, while trating for white spot for example, I think they would survive, but not long term.

Lesson #1 - take everything read/heard in pet stores with a pinch of salt (pun intended).
Falina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 02:58 PM   #4 
kevinoh33

in petsmart, ever single gouami label says that they require aquarium salt.
most fish don't (says labels)
kevinoh33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 05:52 PM   #5 
Oldman47

Just came home from one of those places a few minutes ago. The tank label that does not say requires aquarium salt is very rare at mine. That does not mean that I believe a word of it. It even says it on cory labels and they are known in most places to be sensitive to salt. (not the labels, the cories)
Oldman47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 07:26 PM   #6 
Lupin