Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2012, 12:12 AM   #21 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
Yeah, I compared my tap water to the conditioned tap water and both my tanks. I had just done a 50% water change so at the time, everything was the same except the unconditioned tap water had a lower pH.
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:19 AM   #22 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Free ammonia is what's dangerous. The higher the pH, the more free ammonia is present (by percentage). This chart explains that.

CNYKOI - Ammonia calculator

By this you'll see that, at 0.25ppm, the difference in free ammonia at 7.0pH and 8.0pH is not harmful at tropical water temperatures.

Of course, once your tank is cycled, this is a moot point.

EDIT: I don't see Prime affecting pH either way. What water conditioner are you using that does?

Last edited by Hallyx; 12-09-2012 at 12:23 AM.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:20 AM   #23 
Syriiven
Member
 
Syriiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Wierd...mine don't change after conditioner. Maybe .2, since my tap is about 7.6...or was. Hmm. I may have to investigate this more before acclimating my new males to the 10g.
Syriiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:28 AM   #24 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
The water conditioner from Walmart... BettaSafe? I have pictures of the tests I did and the pH change is very apparent. But it could just possibly cause a false reading? I will have to test the water treated with prime once I get it, hopefully tomorrow.
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:19 AM   #25 
Syriiven
Member
 
Syriiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
I really don't trust anything that says Betta-anything. I use Nutrafin Aqua Plus and API Stress Coat+ (you know, since Phy's a tail-biter).
Syriiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:22 AM   #26 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
Yeah but walmarts all we have around here so I've been phasing out all my Walmart stuff but it will take awhile because it isn't free lol.
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:24 AM   #27 
Syriiven
Member
 
Syriiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
I totally get that. But our walmart has the Nutrafin Aquaplus...not anything else, but it at least has that. Wonder why yours doesnt...hmm.
Syriiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:25 AM   #28 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
I live in a small town? Our Walmart isn't very big.
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:27 AM   #29 
Syriiven
Member
 
Syriiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Canada
Ours isn't either, it doesnt even sell thermometers that work or have live fish anymore. And prlly never had bettas. Though now it leans towards betta items, like the tiny tanks, bad betta pellets and flakes....maybe mine's just wierd.
Syriiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 11:30 AM   #30 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
Lol I think they are all slightly different depending on the managers and whatever.
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.