Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-16-2012, 10:25 PM   #1 
SarahAngel

Please Help! Fairly new to Bettas not sure what is wrong with Crimson

Hello, I am fairly new to keeping bettas and new to these forums and I need a little bit of help.

I researched extensively before getting my boy Crimson, so I sort of know what I am doing but need some help. I have had him for about a month...a week after I got him home I noticed he was getting some silver scales by his gills...and that the end of his fins were turning translucent. I went to the lfs where I purchased him and asked for some advice. Due to that advice I started treating him with quickcure. I treated him for a week and he did seem better, but now I see its getting worse. The bottom of him is almost completely dull, like hes losing his color and he still has many of these silver scales all in a row. I am going to upload some photos so that you can see what I mean.

Currently he is in a 3 gallon tank by himself. The tank IS heated and I also have an airstone but its off as he doesn't seem to like this. His tank does have a filter as well as one fake plant. He exhibited these symptoms before the plant was introduced, so I don't think its injury from that...

Also, I have tried to cycle the tank but can't seem to get the ammonia to cycle any further. This is why I do weekly water changes ranging from 30 to 70% I do use a kit and check his water parameters daily.

Any help, ideas, etc will be greatly appreciated.

Sarah

here is a direct link to this photo http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphoto...67218809_n.jpg
SarahAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:29 PM   #2 
SarahAngel

Sorry that the photos are huge I did try and scale them down LOL oh and I do use condition as well as a little aquarium salt.
Old 12-17-2012, 12:52 AM   #3 
SarahAngel