Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-25-2012, 09:51 PM   #1 
smarchitect

Exclamation help - fin rot not responding to anything!

Hi all, I am a newbie here, but my poor fish is losing his fins so quickly once again that I was hoping someone here would have some ideas. Started him in a 10 gal tank, eventually added a snail, a few weeks later he got fin rot, and I've done a mix of AQ treatments in a quarantine tank,2 cycles of tetracycline in the 10 gal (without the snail), more QT and the rot is slowed at best.

Four days ago I bought him and snail a whole new 5.5 gal tank, and today noticed major pieces of his fin gone :(

Housing
What size is your tank? 5.5 gallons, 1/2 gal QT tank
What temperature is your tank? 75
Does your tank have a filter? Yes
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? No
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? 1 snail

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? biogold pellets
How often do you feed your betta fish? 2x a day, 3 pellets each time

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? Once a week in 10 gal, daily/every other day in QT tank
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 25% in 10 gal, 100% in QT
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? Stresscoat and AQ salt

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0
pH: 7.2
Hardness: very soft
Alkalinity: 120

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? tattered fins, receding
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? No...swims a lot, good appetite
When did you start noticing the symptoms? has been going on for 2 months
Have you started treating your fish? see above
Does your fish have any history of being ill? No