Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-27-2012, 11:24 PM   #1 
rmrediker

Question New Betta Mom Seeking Advice..

Hi I'm new to owning a betta. I've wanted one for a long time, and my mom bought one for me for Christmas. It is a Half Moon Betta, I'm not sure if it is male or female. At the moment I have a 1 gallon tank, at some point I will upgrade. I have an under gravel heater because my house is always cold, and it was recommended by one of our local pet stores. I have read numerous places that they can picky eaters, which the local pet store doesn't seem to know.
My fish will go to eat her pellets and then spit them right back out at me... It seems hungry but it refuses to eat the food. I am wondering are flakes better? We called the pet store and they told me that she was probably sick. Its fins are fine (no rot from what I can tell) and its swimming around all the time. Any advice would be greatly appreciated
rmrediker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:31 PM   #2 
sainthogan

It's possible the pellets are too big for her to eat. You can crunch them up to make them smaller. You can also soak them in garlic juice to see if she likes them better. My girl was extremely picky too and would only eat flakes. It took me a while to find a pellet she likes, they are small and apparently quite tasty. I
Flakes usually aren't better, but if you can find some with mostly protein sources in them and very little fillers such as wheat, barley, etc, you could try those. The problem with flakes is that they are messy and make you need to clean the tank more often.
sainthogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:36 PM   #3 
Laki

Hi and welcome!!
You probably have a male HM since female tails are much shorter. If the tail is a large D shaped tail then you have a male. Most people buy males so I'm willing to bet you have a boy.