Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-28-2012, 10:13 AM   #1 
itamag

Betta fish fin rot! HELP!!

Hey. I'm quite new to betta raising this is my first betta and I got it after my sister didn't want him :( . My betta Max was always happy, until I left him at my grandma's house when I was abroad and she HEAVILY overfed him. That was three months ago, but he still hadn't bounced back. I keep him in a betta bowl of about 3-4 liters. He doesn't have any heating or any of that stuff. I know these aren't ideal terms for him but I wasn't aware that betta fish even need that!! I believe he was depressed but recently, after buying him some live plants and changing his water more frequently he was more active, playful and responsive. He still swims at a somewhat weird angle and many times swims very fast away from me as I get closer. Well, a few days ago I started seeing fin rot. It was very light. After a bit of research I went and got him Tetra General Tonic. Since about 8 hours ago, when i gave him the med, and now, I believe he got more "splits" in his fins. Also, he is much less to almost not responsive at all. I am very worried and I feel so guilty!! What if he dies or will be heavily injured? What if the meds won't work and the rot will reach his body? He's red so it's hard to tell. The edges of his fins seem almost broken, if you will. He also has very little white fuziness on the edge of one fin, but I believe it is reducing since the meds were put. What can I do? I read so many horrible things online about fin rot and swim bladder disease (which I suspect he has because of his weird swimming and him being much less active) HELP!!!
itamag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 10:19 AM   #2 
LeoTheLakerBetta