Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-30-2012, 02:24 PM   #1 
VegasShimmer

Hello! (Introduction)

Hello! I am new to this website/forum. I am not a newbie at fish/tank care, but I am new to the Betta. A little about my background - I had successfully cared for and raised Angel Fish about 15 years ago and have always admired the Betta fish. I worked as a veterinarian technician for a few years in the early 90s. In the interval, I have tamed feral cats (my Bella and Tony), raised/released baby birds, and rescued a horse in 2006 (which I still have), so pet care and rescue is nothing new to me. As I always say, the more I know people, the more I love my animals!

I recently got my first Betta (Vegas), and he is red/blue. A day or two after, I happened upon the baby Bettas at PetCo and 'rescued' one from there also (Shimmer). I have read what a horrible practice this is, but so far, he/she seems to be thriving. He/she eats very well and seems very healthy and active. I keep Shimmer in a 1/2 gallon for now and will be moving him (hoping for male) to a 1.1 gallon soon. I keep Vegas in a 1.1 gallon and he seems to love it! I would love to have them in bigger tanks, but I have a bad lower back (from riding) and lifting the weight of a 5-10g tank filled with water to be cleaned every week would kill the limited mobility I have left. I may think about upgrading to at least a 2 - 2.5g in the future for each of them, but that would probably be the limit.

I have loved the information and reading all of the interesting forums. Here are some pics of my brood (hope they work?).
Attached Images

VegasShimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:09 PM   #2 
Oldfishlady

Welcome to the forum and to the wonderful world of Betta keeping....

Nice to meet you...