Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-30-2012, 09:43 PM   #1 
Racoon293

Heated tank

Hi. I'm new to bettas and new to the forum. I want to move my betta into a bigger, heated tank. Something in the 3-5 gal. Range. How can I make the transition the least stressful for my fish? What's the best way to acclimate her to the warmer water? Also, advice on live vs. artificial plants.
Racoon293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:55 PM   #2 
aemaki09

It's the same water you'd be using in the new tank as you do the old tank, so you dont need to go overboard with acclimation. Just put him in his cup and float him in the new tank for about 15 min without the heater having been on at all yet.
Once he gets used to the new temp in his new tank you can turn the heater on. Only increase temp about 1-2 degrees per hour, and I wouldnt go any higher than 10 in a day (if there is that big of a difference)
Also, I'm assuming that he isnt in a heated tank alread. If he is in a heated tank then you can just do the first paragraph I wrote.

I Love live plants. They are very helpful with water quality and its not likely your fish will rip his fins on them. You do need to do more research with live plants than anything else, but its definitely worth it. If you decide against live, then use silk instead of plastic plants.
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:56 PM   #3 
AyalaCookiejar