Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-31-2012, 02:24 AM   #1 
SQUIRT1216

Can I turn off the filter at night or during the day?

So, i am a poor college student haha, and i live with 3 other roommates, and i have five 10 gallons in my room. Since I cannot turn off the heater for obvious reason, can i turn off my filter (keep it on about 3-4 hours/day) to save on electricity? I am willing to change water often. Like 25% every 3 days. I have to lock my door most of the time so my roommates don't know i have gazillion of fish tanks in my room lol.

I am not worried about bacteria dying since I actually only have 1 cycled tank anyways, and it is live plant so I probably gonna keep that one on most of the time

My room light is really really bright so I actually never turn on any of the tank light except for the panted one. Can't wait for the summer time, when i can also turn off the heaters too

Last edited by SQUIRT1216; 12-31-2012 at 02:36 AM.
SQUIRT1216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 02:38 AM   #2 
aemaki09

I dont see it being a problem since you dont mind not having a cycled tank, but you will definitely want to get an ammonia test kit at the least to make sure that you know when you need to change your tank water.
aemaki09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 02:41 AM   #3 
SQUIRT1216

I do have the test kit that cost me like $25. But i could never actually know if they are accurate because when i tested the ammonia of the original water in the little cup that the betta came with, the reading is still 0 even with all the floating poo around it. Maybe the fish store actually change the water every day idk.
Old 12-31-2012, 03:11 AM   #4 
aemaki09