Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-05-2013, 10:30 PM   #1 
KuriousArtist

Smile Cobalt's Journal

Hey there,

I have been keeping Betta for a few years now and was always saddened and surprised when they would die 1-6 months later. I didn't understand it, I was doing everything that my local pet store told me and they still died.

I'm trying now for the first time in about 6 months and based on all the helpful tips on the internet, this site included, I am trying for a long lasting companion. I was also surprised to find that most of the things that any local pet store would tell you are wrong (no surprise for most of you guys I suppose).

So I finally feel I'm doing it right. My new Betta Cobalt was well I guess rescued from my local pet store. I brought him home in a 2 cup tub and had a wonderful tank all ready for him. He has a place to hide when needed and a plant for resting. He also has a variety of food. I had some freeze dried blood worms left over from my last one, I picked up some pellets, flakes and some brine shrimp. He also has access to the frozen blood worms I had for my newt who died about 2 weeks ago.

He has a 3 gallon heated tank all to himself and a low/quiet filter that doesn't disrupt the water too much. I read up a lot of reviews about Betta caves and found that this Bonsai temple was enjoyed by many Betta and owners alike I also have a thermometer stuck to the side of the tank to monitor his temperature. And medicine on hand encase he gets sick.

Now that I am armed with the right knowledge and the right tools I am hoping for a happy health companion.
KuriousArtist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:05 AM   #2 
Hopelessaddict101

I'm sorry that you lost all of your other Betta!
That would suck, especially not knowing why they were always dying :(