Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2013, 08:52 PM   #1 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
Question Light timer?

So I read a lot that people have their lights on a timer so they will turn on and off at certain times on their own. How do you do this?

Like, is a light timer come built in to some tank hoods or do you buy it separately? How does it work?

I feel like this might be a stupid question but I've always been curious... If you can buy a light timer for a regular tank, where would you get one? I wouldn't mind links to one if possible :p

Thanks :)
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:53 PM   #2 
colorxmexravyne
Member
 
colorxmexravyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
http://www.petco.com/product/111981/...ium-Timer.aspx

^ I went out and bought this one about two weeks ago. All you have to do is plug the hood into the little outlet there, set it up, and you're good to go!
colorxmexravyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:02 PM   #3 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
Wow, awesome! Do you think I could plug an extension cord into that and plug more than one tank hood into it? I have four tanks, haha!
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:16 PM   #4 
colorxmexravyne
Member
 
colorxmexravyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by AyalaCookiejar View Post
Wow, awesome! Do you think I could plug an extension cord into that and plug more than one tank hood into it? I have four tanks, haha!
I'm not entirely sure, but it can't hurt to try, haha. You could also look into this one. It has more ports so that you could plug up all your tanks. (:
colorxmexravyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:20 PM   #5 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
Haha, but I have two tanks on one side of the room and two on the other so I would still need extension cords :p this would be great for when I will likely aquire more tanks, haha!
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:44 PM   #6 
Kytkattin
Member
 
Kytkattin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
For like $4 at Osh you can get the same thing, just FYI. There is nothing special about the one the pet stores carry, unless you get something that is super advanced for day/night cycles.
Kytkattin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:56 PM   #7 
callistra
Member
 
callistra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm sure they sell them at pet stores but you can also buy timers at Walmart, Home Depot, Ace Hardware.. lots of places.
callistra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:28 PM   #8 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
What section of Walmart would I find them?
Walmart is the only store near me. Do all of them work in the same way and can I use extension cords with them?
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:49 PM   #9 
MSG
Member
 
MSG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
They're $3-$7 new.

  • You find the automatic timers in the home improvement section. By the replacement light switches/nails & locks.
There should be 3-4 different automatic timers for you to choose from. (Decide if you want 2 or 3 prong timer.)

You can use extension cords on the timer, but it will turn everything OFF & ON that's connected to it.

Aquarium equipment for bettas usually don't EXCEED 1875 WATTS. (Rarely do they even exceed 75watts total)

As long as everything connected to the timer uses less than 800 watts of electricity, it should pose NO fire hazard.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:54 PM   #10 
AyalaCookiejar
Member
 
AyalaCookiejar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Nebraska
Thanks!
I only have four tanks and two of them would need to be connected to an extension cord. The other two I could plug directly into the timer. I have two tanks on one side of the room and two on the other... I don't think the lights from the four tanks would even add up to 100watts, lol :p
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light timer? Pogthefish Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 4 04-30-2012 09:02 PM
Aquarium Light Timer Suggestions. folion Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 10-29-2010 01:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.