Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-08-2013, 12:26 AM   #1 
cdouglas93

Exclamation New to Betta's

While I have in the past kept a fish aquarium it is my first time keeping Betta's. My boyfriend knowing how much I loved keeping fish before surprised me one day and got me a male and female betta not knowing they couldn't be kept together. Atm both are kept in 1.5 Gallon aquariums but I am currently setting up two seperate aquariums for them. I have a basic ten gallon aquarium and a 5 gallon hex aquarium. My problem is I'm not quite sure what Betta should go in which tank. I want to do a community for both. I've done some research on who can be kept with who and was possibly thinking of doing a sorority with the female but wasn't sure if that was possible with only a ten gallon? I am setting both tanks up tonight with sand bottoms and the basics so I'll have a couple days before they are cycled. Any advice will be helpful.
cdouglas93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:30 AM   #2 
Luxavior

From what I've read, a 10g is barely scraping by for a sorority as they tend to require at least 5 females and LOTS of hiding places to prevent fights.

You could put the male in the 10g if he has long fins, and the female in the 5g and get some shrimp or snails for tankmates.

And from what I understand, cycling takes around a month to fully develop and stabilize
Luxavior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:51 AM   #3 
DoctorWhoLuver

Cycling could take months, but could take a few days to two weeks with a certain bacteria supplement (forgot what it was called X])