Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-08-2013, 08:30 PM   #1 
Kiiarah

Betta fell! Damaged swim bladder?

Hi everyone, it has been a while since I posted on here but I really need some advice. A friend of mine has a betta who we believe had injured his swim bladder and we need to know if anything can be done to treat and/or reduce symptoms. I have some experience treating bacterial SBD but never internal damage. During his water change two days ago, Leo jumped out of his vase and fell into the sink. He got picked up immediately and put in the water where he looked a bit disoriented but seemed to recover. He did spend a minute or two swimming crooked, but then he was acting fine so we just attributed it to mild shock from the fall. Today he has been staying at the surface of his water and is on his side. When he swims he is sometimes jerky in his movement but seems to be able to right himself until he stops moving. The area where his swim bladder is seems slightly swollen today as well. Is there anything we can do to help him recover, and are there any warning signs to watch for that would indicate his condition is worsening? I have heard of fish living with chronic SBD for years with a bit of help, but I am not sure if that applies in the case of injuries. Any advice as to the best course of action would be very helpful. Thank you so much!
Kiiarah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:33 PM   #2 
Sena Hansler

Try putting the fish on 3 teaspoons of epsom salt per gallon (PRE DISSOLVE). Epsom is good for internal problems.