Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-09-2013, 04:28 PM   #1 
Elsewhere

Lots of Flaring?!

My new Betta has been flaring like crazy all the time at his reflection. It doesn't matter if the light is on or off of if it's night or day- he just seems to be concentrated on flaring. His colours have started to come in beautifully, and I can tell he's healthy, he's incredibly active, all over the place. He just seems to focus on flaring A LOT. Is this something I should be worried about, or is it natural? My older Betta only really started flaring around November, after I'd had him for 5 months, so I'm rather new to the concept.
Elsewhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:16 PM   #2 
AyalaCookiejar

How long have you had him?
By newest betta flared at absolutely everything for the first 3-4 days that I had him but he calmed down. A lot of times they are flaring because they are establishing and protecting their new territory. My newest betta has also since gone blind and no longer flares at all :p

It is pretty normal and I would not worry too much as long as he begins to calm down. Sometimes excessive flaring can cause rips in the fin, but those, too, should heal within a day or so on their own as long as the water is warm and clean.
AyalaCookiejar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 05:24 PM   #3 
Elsewhere

I've had him... Maybe a week and a half now, but he only went into his big 10g Saturday or Sunday.
Old 01-09-2013, 05:36 PM   #4 
AyalaCookiejar

Yeah, it could be a territorial thing. I'd just keep an eye on him to see if he calms down. He's probably also just very aggressive... Some are more aggressive than others. Mine does not flare anymore but I can still tell that he is very aggressive despite his blindness.