Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-10-2013, 08:11 AM   #1 
fishynewb

Question Betta Temporary Housing

As my username implies, I am a total fish newb, and I need help!

I was recently given a well-meaning but perhaps not very well-informed gift of a lovely male betta. I am an animal-lover, but have never owned a fish in my life. He is a beautiful (extremely grumpy) black veiltail with red fins who we have decided has a biker's personality, and who has been subsequently named "Harley."

Also gifted to me was a 1.5 gallon starter tank and a silk plant. After some frantic research, it became clear this is horribly inadequate. I think I've now got the basics of tank cycling, and have purchased him a proper 5 gal with filter and heater, so I look forward to introducing him once everything is ready.

What I am less sure about is his temporary home! I've read that fishless cycling can take weeks. But I have no idea what to do with him in the meantime! Will Harley be safe in the 1.5 gallon for that time, or should I go get him some larger temporary housing? In the five days I've had him, I've been doing daily 100% water changes, and fortunately he seems to handle the stress of all that pouring like a trooper. (An angry trooper, but I'd be angry, too.) I worry, though, because he has been so aggressive (flares frequently, especially during feeding), and because he is a rather burly guy.

I realize I sound clueless, but to think of that pathetic cup he came in, there is no way I am taking him back to the petshop. And these same "experts" advised my friend the 1.5 gal would be a sufficient permanent home for him, so I can only assume they are full of it!

I would greatly appreciate any help the people of bettafish.com can offer (and I am sure Harley will, too). Thank you!
fishynewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:36 AM   #2 
Sundancex