Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-11-2013, 12:46 AM   #1 
KCalNeon

LOTS of Betta Questions

LOTS Fish questions:

Hello Everyone! I have a lot of questions about my future Betta fish. I have read almost all of the sticky's in the Beta care and the habitat forum but I couldn't find the answers to my questions. I apologize if I repeat some stuff that was already mentioned in the stickys.

I plan to get a male Betta in a couple months after I've researched, cycled the tank, etc. I plan to get a 5 or a 10 gallon tank with only one Betta. I don't want to use live plants or add any other fish, or snails yet because i'm a newbie and I'd like to keep it simple. :)

Questions:

I already have a hamster in my room and I've heard that Betta fish like it dark at night and bright in the morning? I'm not sure about when and when not to turn on the light or why a Betta would need a light?? Do I need a separate tank light?
My hamster wakes up at around 10pm and I take him out in my room for about 30 minutes. Plus I'm walking back and forth turning the light on and off at night to get things like homework, get hamster supplies.. etc. Will this stress out my Betta? My room lamp will be right next to the tank (tank will be on my dresser) and lamp on my chest. About 20 inches above it, but right next to it. I can't really move it otherwise the lighting is all messed up.

What's the best diet? I can't find a thread about diet anywhere :( What brand of Betta pellets is the best and how often and how much should you feed your Betta? Does it matter? What other treats as foods can you give? How much and how often?

I heard your not supposed to feed your Betta fish the first day home to let their system clear out.. Is that true? And what else do you usually do with a new fish? They are coming from a totally different environment so how can you reduce that stress?