Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Chat
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-11-2013, 02:49 PM   #1 
itsuki

im worried...betta too hyper??

Hi im new here (1st post ever)

Is my fish freaked out?? I think he's too hyper, over reacting to the new setup?? Is this good?? bad?? normal?? Aren't bettas usually slow moving??

barely getting back into bettas. today marks the 1 week anniversary of me getting my 1st betta in over.......at least 12 yrs(i was a novice back then). here's the situation/details:

new male veiltail betta (Nemo), 10 gallon tank, a bubble filter and light (customized to fit on top of tank, i think the tank is still poorly lit and needs upgrade) from a 2.5 gallon tank. water heater that averages 75 degrees. filled with filtered tap water (please dont complain) very light decor in tank. His general pace in the tank for the past week: slow.

just added last night: water change (with regular tap water, please dont complain) with 75% new water and 1st time using nitrate remover (only 5ml instead of the recommended 10ml,) rocks for decor and hiding spot(collected from outside and washed for about 15 minutes), left it run without fish (i think thats called cycling, trying to learn the lingo), and the addition of 3 oto catfish, he's adjusted to them quickly and doesnt harass them, 1 of them on ocassion follows Nemo around. General pace/swiming last night to new setup: very fast. You can refer to the fish tank pic in my album as reference, the picture was taken late, late last night.
itsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 02:54 PM   #2 
MollyJean

Betta are not slow moving fish. A healthy betta is active and curious. That being said, if he is brushing up against plants or the glass, he might have a parasite.