Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-14-2013, 12:48 AM   #1 
itsuki

are my oto catfish getting enough food??

are my oto fish getting enough food??

details:

im a born again novice betta owner. ive had a 13 yr gap between fish and barely back into owning a betta for over 2 weeks now. i was a poorly informed and underfunded teenage betta enthuaist then and im guess im just as poorly informed now but im reading more and more and finding info off the net as become an daily routine over the the last week

had male veiltale (Nemo) for 2 wks now

3 oto catfish (Larry, Curly, and Moe) for maybe 6 days now, they get along with Nemo, one even follows him from time to time

10g tank with heater at a constant 75 degrees and a tetra whisper filter. retrofitted mini bow 2.5g lamp. condiitoner and nitrate remover. bare tank floor with 3 fake silk plants.

heard that otos need more then natural occuring tank algae so i bought API Algae Wafers (they look like mini cookies). well the otos wont touch it, ive seen them eat at it for a few seconds twice now and then go on to sucking on the floor or wall of the tank or on parts of the filter. i thought they might eat it once the wafer breaks down abit, its been days now its its just totally broken down and now just mush in the corner of the tank (ive didnt like the thought of it sitting there so i did a water change).

question 1) with only 1 betta fish and no live plants will the otos get enough algae to eat?? im worried that theyre starving and will eventually die, i cant tell because they either zip around so fast then they will be still and suck glass on endlessly.

question 2) should i let the algae wafer break down completely and let it float around in the tank/ do these wafers rot and mess up the chemical balance of the tank??
itsuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:03 AM   #2 
LittleBettaFish