Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-21-2013, 09:26 AM   #1 
bettaluver14

Question Gravel Vacuum help -,-

okay, i have no experience what so ever with these and because i am buying a 10gal for my male VT in the next week i WILL need one.

i'm interested in this one: http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...AvailInUS%2FNo

but for a 10gal tank what size vacuum will i need? does it make a lot of noise?? i have so many questions
also, will all the gravel get sucked up through the vacuum or do i just get a small one for just debris? because i dont want to have to put all the gravel back in his tank and freak him out.
question 3: will the vacuum suck a lot of his water out?
question 4: how do i make sure HE doesn't get sucked in lol?
question 5: do i turn his filter and heater off while vacuuming?

thank you all so much
bettaluver14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:50 AM   #2 
sainthogan

1.The gravel will not get completely sucked out, there is a mesh thing at the top that prevents that from happening. For a ten gallon, you'll probably want a medium size, otherwise, you'll spend most of your day vacuuming his tank with a small one.
2. It will suck out his water, so you would want to use it at the same time you are planning a water change - you can use it to siphon out his water while vacuuming his gravel. It shouldn't make any noise, it's simply using air and water to create suction.
3. While vacuuming, you may need to use your other hand to keep him away from it, they can and do get sucked into the hose, and it's not always a pretty sight (I don't want to scare you, but there have been deaths with overly curious fish swimming into the suction), so if you keep it mostly in the gravel and are always aware of where he is, you shouldn't have a problem.