Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-29-2013, 05:18 PM   #1 
Bungertswife

New to Breeding Bettas

Hello,
I am new to breeding bettas however, upon getting my female at a store my boyfriend and I plus the worker noticed that she was quite full of eggs. We had bought a male crowntail but realized he is too small compared to her so we then yesterday bought a male veil tail who is a little bigger than her. I am looking for some advice on how to get them to breed. We currently have the 3 of them in their own setups, my male veil tail's tank is next to my female plakats tank so they can see each other. He was blowing bubbles and has started spending more time near her just chilling or flaring and showing off to her.

We are planning on getting a complete 10 gallon aquarium for them to breed in. I am just wondering what all I have to get for them to ensure proper mating. What should their water quality levels be at? How can I get them to spawn? Is it ok if he doesn't have a huge nest or a big one before introducing them? (I know online says some males won't make a nest til after they breed). Is it normal for a female to be turned away from food when shes full of eggs?

A question about the fry as well....My local pet store sells brine shrimp eggs in a big tube for $5.79 per pack, they also sell a brine shrimp hatchery for $24.00 or something like that....Should I get the kit as well? Then on the eggs package it said to use rock salt but they said use aquarium salt....What should I use to hatch the eggs and where would I get it?

For the breeding tank, I know she will need hides to get away from the male at times...do you prefer using live plants, silk plants or fake plants? Or do you just use simple aquarium decorations? I want to use live plants but want to make sure that will be ok for both the breeding bettas and the fry...