Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
View Poll Results: Is this tank too small?
Yes it is! Get a bigger one right away! 11 91.67%
maybe.... 1 8.33%
Nope! It's not too small! 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Old 01-29-2013, 07:49 PM   #1 
xxmarch

Question Is my tank too small?

Hello! I'm new to betta fish and I'm wondering if my tank is the correct size! also, do you HAVE to have a filter and a heater?

Attached Images

xxmarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:56 PM   #2 
LittleBettaFish

In a very small container like that you would be better getting a heater. Temperature fluctuations occur very rapidly in small volumes of water and these can be harmful to your betta's health.

IMO I think that is too small for a permanent home. Do you know how many gallons it holds? I think if you only have a few bettas as pets, you really shouldn't need to be housing them in anything under one gallon. Even then, one gallon for me is the absolute bare minimum.

The difficulty with these small containers/tanks/bowls is that it can be very difficult to find a quality heater that will fit. Most of the heaters that are designed for them, only heat up to 5 or so degrees above room temperature so are not suitable at all as they contribute to temperature fluctuations.

For now I would just keep on top of water changes and ensure your water quality is as good as possible.
LittleBettaFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:00 PM   #3 
xxmarch

Thanks!

Thank you! Also how do I get a profile pic?
Old 01-29-2013, 08:22 PM   #4 
MSG

Looks like one of these.