Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-30-2013, 08:03 PM   #1 
Jaae

Red face An admittedly bad betta keeper...

Hello everyone! I'm Jaae (juh-eye-ay). I admit I'm not the best betta owner ever but I'm trying to change that. I got my betta, named Tristan, about a year and a half ago at this crappy pet store in the mall near my dorm (I'm a poor college student...) He currently lives in an unheated, unfiltered animal cracker container with a few plants and a shark cake. He gets fed betta pellets daily and peas on occasion and his water is changed every weak. I think he's happy. He always flares up when you get close to his tank and he can either be found swimming around, chilling in his shark, or laying on a plant. I'm in the process of getting him a 10g tank with filter and heater so don't hate too hard!

Sorry for the bad pictures. He never seems to sit still when I need him to...
Jaae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:22 PM   #2 
eatmice2010

I'm not going to be mean.
1. is the lid screwed on if so you need to take it of so he can breath
2. until you get a 10g please upgrade him to a LARGE vase ( you can get them cheap at a thrift store or dollar store)
eatmice2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:24 PM   #3 
pittipuppylove

Welcome to the forum! Hey, many of the people here started out in the same boat you're in - as long as you're learning and working to improve your betta's quality of life, we can't complain too much Lots of other college students (myself included) here too, so we can usually understand the trials of fishkeeping in a dorm.
pittipuppylove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:26 PM   #4 
Jaae