Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-01-2013, 12:39 AM   #1 
gargleknobs

Damaged tail and dorsal fin?

I have a male crowntail and today I noticed that his tail seemed shorter than usual. Upon further inspection, I could tell that the tips of his fins looked like they have been breaking off. I thought he must be biting the tips of his tail off, but then I noticed that a couple of the strands from his dorsal fin have broken off, too.

I don't think he would be capable of biting his dorsal fin, but I'm no expert. I've been researching fin rot, and I'm honestly not sure if that's what it is or not. It doesn't look dark or any more reddish than it naturally does at the tips, though his tail looks a bit like it has a white film of sorts on it. I just want to know what's wrong so I can start helping him as soon as possible. I currently have him in a 1 gallon bowl that I clean every couple of days (I cleaned it yesterday), though I am shopping for a bigger tank (probably closer to 5 gallons as I do not have space for anything larger) and I have some marimo moss balls on the way to aid the water quality a bit. I'm also thinking about picking up some aquarium salt, as I have read that it helps to fend off infections and promotes fin repair.

Here is a picture of him when I first brought him home from the pet store (his coloring was much lighter then, he's sort of a blackish blue grey now):

Here is a picture of a happy, healthy fish just a few weeks ago:

Here is a picture of him today:

His tail is obviously much shorter, and a few of the strands from his dorsal fin are gone. His tail looks somewhat whiteish, which is abnormal.

Honestly, looking at these photos, I'm wondering how long the tail shrinking has been going on, as it would appear that he had no shorter dorsal strands when he was younger and his tail was longer still.