Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-02-2013, 03:54 PM   #1 
keeley146

Is this velvet?

I just took this picture of my betta. Does this look like velvet to you around his head/belly? If so, I want to treat it asap. He is currently in a 5 gallon tank. Should I treat him there or move him to my smaller 1.5gal tank? His 5 gal tank has live plants in it and I dont want to kill them, but at the same time want to make sure if there is anything bad on them, that it gets killed too. Advice appreciated, I'm a novice.
Attached Images

Last edited by keeley146; 02-02-2013 at 03:56 PM.
keeley146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:04 PM   #2 
valen1014

It's hard to tell, IMO. I'm sure people with more experience will comment soon. It might help them help you if you fill these out =]

Housing
What size is your tank?
What temperature is your tank?
Does your tank have a filter?
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration?
Is your tank heated?
What tank mates does your betta fish live with?

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish?
How often do you feed your betta fish?

Maintenance

How often do you perform a water change?
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change?
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change?

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters?

Ammonia:
Nitrite:
Nitrate:
pH:
Hardness:
Alkalinity:

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed?
How has your betta fish's behavior changed?
When did you start noticing the symptoms?
Have you started treating your fish? If so, how?
Does your fish have any history of being ill?
How old is your fish (approximately)?
valen1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:19 PM   #3 
keeley146

Housing