Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-06-2013, 03:14 PM   #1 
Skyewillow

Rehabiliting newly purchased fish

We adopted 5 more fish in cups yesterday, And I'm hoping to find some more ideas on how to help the males recover from the trauma of it all.

One of our males looks like his gills are inflamed. They stick out further than I've ever seen. I put a little bit of epsom salt in his water, and gave him a nice hammock for easy breathing access. I've ordered some IAL, and blackwater extract (to tide us over until the leaves come in).

His water was dingy brown with huge black clumps of poo on the bottom of the cup.

Does anyone else have any ideas that would help poor Don Quixote?
Skyewillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:52 PM   #2 
nerobella

I'm not an expert by any means, but i was always told to just keep up on water changes, make sure the temp is between 78-80, and one tsp of aquarium salt per gallon - so for a small holding tank it'd be about 1/4 of a tsp along with dried maple leaves - though the season has passed.

It helped my two rescues recover very quickly, when i got them they had absolutely no fins left :[ But now they've got the signature veil tail fins although they're kind of wilted, but I'm attributing it to them having had to actually regrow fins.
nerobella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:00 PM   #3 
aemaki09

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerobella View Post
I'm not an expert by any means, but i was always told to just keep up on water changes, make sure the temp is between 78-80, and one tsp of aquarium salt per gallon - so for a small holding tank it'd be about 1/4 of a tsp along with dried maple leaves - though the season has passed.